1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plow question

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by newguy7, Feb 6, 2014.

1. newguy7

newguy7 Junior Member
    from MiDwEst

I am a student/small business owner, very new to the snow removal game so please take it easy i have a large parking lot and driveway and snow has just been unforgiving i figured id learn how to plow i dont have alot of money to spend.. I have been given a plow identical to this one http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/for/4293699767.html what steps do i have to take to mount this to 2006 f350 2wd, i have access to a machine shop and welder if that gives any more info.i will just be plowing on flat ground. thanks in advance
  2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Your putting a 10' heavy plow on a 2wd f350 ? Might be a tad heavy. Might wanna rethink that
  3. NThill93

NThill93 Member

youre going to hate plowing with 2wd
  4. maxwellp

maxwellp PlowSite.com Addict

I know I read it all the time " I plow in 2 wheel drive " ............
    Save yourself the headache of getting stuck in the pile at 2am, get 4x4 first then start plowing. Unless you have someone plowing with you that can pull you out all the time.
  5. leolkfrm

leolkfrm PlowSite.com Addict

2wd will need lots of weight in the back, both for traction and counter balance for the plow....I would think 1000#s....
  6. Diesel Dan

Diesel Dan Senior Member

Don't even try, that plow is too big for even a 4x4 super duty
  7. Triton2286

Triton2286 Senior Member

Hey maybe he doesn't have a 10ft highway plow and he just assumes that all yellow plows are pretty much the same? lol
  8. myzx6

myzx6 Member