1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow purchase need help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by mouth, Aug 31, 2012.

1. mouth

mouth Junior Member
    from Maine

Ok I am wondering if some people out there who have experince with the snow dogg could give me some impute and advise.

I am looking at buying a plow for my truck, it is a 2006 Ford F150 5.4L extended cab with a 6.5 foot box, with tow and plow prep package.

I am thinking about either a Fisher HD 7.5 foot or a Snow Dogg VMD

I have used Fisher and diamond plows since I could see over the steering wheel.

I have no experience at all with Snow Dogg, I was wondering there quality and reliability vs cost, I have not priced the WMD yet, wanted to get some info to see if it was worth exploring,

I will be plowing my own drive way and 3 or 4 other off and on, If everything works out for next year I hope to have either a 1 ton or 3/4 ton and be doing this full time, depends on the job situation. Any help would be great
  2. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

Fisher) well known, lots of service centers available in maine (everybody in Maine sells fisher parts) large selection of used units to chose from, long proven history

Snowdawg) can be bought cheap
  3. peteo1

peteo1 PlowSite.com Addict

You may want to opt for the SD version. I met a guy with an f150 and his snowdog really made the front end sag. Personally I don't like the snowdog because they seem cheap but ice never used one. Look into some front end upgrades as well. Good luck and happy plowing
  4. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

Fisher recommends the SD for that truck (06 F150 SB short bed)