1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plow on a 2000 ford f-250

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by mowerconsultant, Dec 9, 2000.

1. mowerconsultant

mowerconsultant Junior Member

Hey guys,
    I am new to the plow forum, been on the commercial forum for a while.
    anyways, I bought a new 2000 f-250 super duty ext cab truck with powerstroke.
    The dealer I bought it from suggested that I dont install a plow, stating that ford would not warranty any front end problems because of the extra wieght.
    he stated that the trucks front end is maxed out do to the diesel engine.
    This truck does not have a plow prep package.
    is any of this true ?
    I was thinking of a 8 1/2 ft western pro plow.
    any thoughts or comments ?
    thanks
    pj

2. John DiMartino

John DiMartino PlowSite.com Veteran

He's right,you bought the wrong truck to plow with.No front end payload on the SD.it has the Dana 50 front end.Dana 60 is what should be under that truck,you need to buy an F450 or a Dodge Ram 2500/3500.It doesnt have a plow prep pkg because you cant get one,obviously since it cant handle a plow.If you must put a plow on it,waiveing warranty and insurance(since overloaded vehicles are not covered by your policy)then look at the sno-way poly plow,it is supposed to be lightweight,which will help keep the front end weight as low as possible.Next time ask before you buy a truck,now its a little late.

3. Lazer

Lazer Senior Member

Put your plow on. Install an "add-a-leaf" as needed.

Front end warranty is a moot point on a Ford SD anyway.

4. GeoffD

GeoffD PlowSite.com Veteran