1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow Not Moving

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by ryanp37, Dec 28, 2008.

1. ryanp37

ryanp37 Junior Member

Please bear in mind that I am a total novice who just plows his own driveway and have limited knowledge of plow lingo. I plowed the other day and got stuck going up my long angled driveway. My plow was down at the time and I had a small mound of snow in front of me that complicated my getting up the rest of the way. Foolishly I rammed through it and discovered that I could no longer move my plow all of a sudden. Now I cannot move my plow at all. The motor does not run when I move the control stick but I do hear some clicking under the hood. I suspect that this is somehow related to the ramming punishment I subjected the plow to as I was trying to get out of my driveway. I checked the fluid and it is full. One thing I did notice is that on my right side plow piston there is a small black seal that is partially exposed. Any help you could provide would be really appreciated. Also is there a way that i can manually jack up the plow so i can take it somewhere to be repaired?

Thanks in Advance,
    Paul

2. sechracer

sechracer Senior Member

Soundss like a bad solonoid, Jump the big posts and see if the pump runs. What kind of plow is it?

3. ryanp37

ryanp37 Junior Member

It is a Fisher MM. Could you please clarify what jump the posts means? Thanks.

4. sechracer

sechracer Senior Member

On the solonoid, where the power from the battery goes to, there should be 2 big posts. 1 for the battery side, one for the plow side. Jump them and see if the pump turns on. If it does, then you know you got a bad solonoid.

5. ryanp37