1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow Lights?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by wfd0311, Nov 17, 2011.

1. wfd0311

wfd0311 Junior Member

Hi I am new to the forum and I'm trying to get some information on plow lights and whats required. This is my first year plowing my driveway and I was wondering if I need some sort of strobe or rotating light on my truck. I live on the same street as a school and I will be pushing the snow onto the street in some cases. People are telling me its a good idea and can't hurt but is it true its a law when in the act of plowing a light must be displayed.
  2. Yooper75

Yooper75 Senior Member

Welcome to the forum.:waving: It's always a good idea to have some sort of warning light on a plow truck and it may not hurt to have a back up alarm if you are in a area that has a lot of kids running around like a school zone and you don't have to become a certified light geek like some of us just a mag mount LED, strobe, or rotator beacon or mini bar will get the job done. In most places it illeagal to push snow into or across a roadway and all it takes is one pissed off neighbor to ruin your day and get you a ticket for it.
  3. Weenuk

Weenuk Senior Member

I crank my music up LOUD instead of a back up beeper. Could also use your hazard lights while plowing..
  4. geer hed

geer hed Senior Member