1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow height

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Fusarelli, Dec 12, 2014.

1. Fusarelli

Fusarelli Junior Member

Hi,
    I have a fisher minute mount plow on a 1999 Dodge Ram 2500. Is there a specific height the plow should be off the ground when it's fully raised? Mine seems rather low, roughly 10 inches. When it's raised, the A frame comes within a half inch of touching the attachment arm, so if I were to shorten the lift chain, idk if it would go much higher, or if it would do some damage.
    FYI a, this is my first time owning my own plow, just got the truck with the plow over the summer. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

I'd start by reading the owners manual.

3. Northman

Northman Senior Member
    from Ohio

Out of the 3 plows I have bought in past only 1 came with a manual.

I dont know fisher. But it sure sounds good to me.

Here is some past post on other plows. Maybe some of these will help ya.

copy pasted old post here

Dealers say height 9'' inches is the clearance on most setup's, so 11'' is ideal...

So, you need to consider the rise but, you also have to consider the drop. when the plow is down and the contour of the grade drops will your plow have the float to follow the grade after you adjust your chains.

4. Fusarelli

Fusarelli Junior Member