1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow Hard on the truck???????

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by snowpro2210, Aug 14, 2008.

1. snowpro2210

snowpro2210 Junior Member

:help:Ok first off im a newb when it comes to plowing so bare with me for a little bit. I did lawn care maintenance this summer and have a 1997 4x4 Ford F150(Pic below) my questions are how much wear and tear will this put on my truck. It already has 185,xxx miles on it now and is running pretty solid but i need something to do during the winter and i said for get working a job that pays $7.50 and hour so I was thinking about putting a plow on my truck and doing snow removal this winter.

?1. is this a good idea
    ?2.how do you all advertise
    ?3. will i make a decent amount of money doing this( i live in Ohio also if that helps)payup
    ?4. will i also need a salt spreader.
    ?5. how do you all charge.payup

Thanks Mike

My new toy3.jpg

new toy 44.jpg
  2. tls22

tls22 PlowSite Veteran

Number 1 thing is insurance, you need that. Also how much snow does your area avg? If you have never plowed before, i suggest perhaps working for sum1 first. This way you can learn the in's and out's of plowing. As for wear on the truck, yeah if you plow like a mad man it can take its toll on it. There is alot of info on this site, im sure every1 here can help you out. Good luck!:waving:
  3. ABES

ABES PlowSite.com Addict
    from MN

^^^^ All very good advice, and yes plowing is very hard on a truck even more so on a half ton.
  4. Sno4U

Sno4U Senior Member