1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow fro 32,000 GVW truck.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by BIGWIV, Oct 7, 2003.

1. BIGWIV

BIGWIV Junior Member

:waving: Hello everybody !! New to the site; first post. All thow i've been plowing for 15 yrs. I just found this site 4 months ago. Its a great site

:drinkup:

MY question is: I bought a 1991 Chevy Kodiak 32,000 GVW, Cat diesel 5 speed manual with 14' dumping stake bed. Got for mostly leaf clean-ups, hauling bark,and other odd jobs. I'm thinking about putting a plow on it for a 3rd. plow vehicle. I'm trying to decide to go with a plow like a western or Fisher that runs off a motor & pump 10'. Do they work well are the motors and pumps strong enough to lift that heavy plow quick like a 7.5 or 8.0 on 3/4 tons. Or go with a plow ran off the central hydraulics 10'. How well do they work for speed and dependability? I'm only use to working with Westerns on 3/4 & 1 tons. 7.5 - 8.5

2. GeoffD

GeoffD PlowSite.com Veteran

Central Hydro,

12' frink plow, anything less and your asking for problems.

Geoff

3. Santo

Santo Banned

Do you have a wet box?

4. BIGWIV

BIGWIV Junior Member

Thank's GeoffD there is a distributor 10 miles away that sells Frink I'll give them a call and get a price tomorrow.

Santo I'm not sure what you mean by wet box, if you mean central hydraulics yes.

5. Santo

Santo Banned

Do you have a wet box?
    A centralized hydraulic box? ?

What is it ? A baby 10 wheeler?

6. Santo

Santo Banned

GO AS BIG AS YOU CAN . 10-11-footer

They are a bad a$$ pushin machine.
    Partner has the "97 Kodiak flatbed . put an old car on the back , wrench it down , and go to town.
    You'll be satisfied.

7. BIGWIV