1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plow brand advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Reluctantpusher, Mar 3, 2015.

1. Reluctantpusher

Reluctantpusher Junior Member

Fairly new to the plowing scene. I've been subbing for Brickman since 2009 and I think I'm finally ready to move from a skid steer with a plow to a couple of trucks and go after my own work. What I'm looking for is some good advice on what brand of plow I should go with. I'd like to get something to where I can get several years out of a plow and I plan to have one more truck with a mount than I have blades so that I can have a spare rig ready to go in the event of a breakdown. I want an attachment system that will work for 3/4 and 1 ton GM trucks and also for a 4700 International. There is a Boss dealer close to me and their stuff seems pretty solid but I really need some advice from some of you fellows that have run different brands and really know what works and what doesn't.
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Drive back to Boss and tell yes, I'll take one.
  3. alldayrj

alldayrj PlowSite.com Addict

4700 is going to be a heavy weight plow, not the same as one on your pickup
  4. PLOWMAN45

PLOWMAN45 2000 Club Member

Western and Fisher make nice heavywieght plows
  5. geer hed

geer hed Senior Member