1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow Blade

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Fresh350, Feb 23, 2012.

1. Fresh350

Fresh350 Junior Member
    from CT

Hey guys,

I am somewhat new to plowing, I have always used an Ariens snow-blower, but needed to get a plow after last winter's epic snow accumulations! I apologize ahead of time if this seems like a common or "rookie" question.

I purchased a used (04) Fisher MM2 plow, the guy I got from used it to plow the parking lot at his diner and his home driveway, both very small. My question is directed towards whether or not I need a new blade for this plow. I used it in one storm so far and it seemed to really pancake the snow to the pavement which I know my clients will not be happy with if it continues to happen. Is there a way to check if the blade needs to be replaced or sharpened (not sure if that's even possible) or am I just doing something wrong?

Thanks!

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

First its called a cutting edge,the thing you replace when worn. If its even with the trip edge then replace it.

3. Fresh350

Fresh350 Junior Member
    from CT

Are there any diagrams that point out the cutting edge and trip edge to help me determine this, as I said I am new to plowing just looking for a little guidance. Thanks

4. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Here is a pix without the cutting edge on it. With a cutting edge it should be about 6 inches in height.

[​IMG]

5. Fresh350

Fresh350 Junior Member
    from CT