1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow and 6" lift

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Rocky383, Sep 18, 2002.

1. Rocky383

Rocky383 Junior Member
    from alaska

I am New to this all and thankfully it seems i sort of stumbled upon a wealth of knowledgeable people. so i am a student and i live in alaska. i starting thinking maybe plowing would be a good way to make money over our long winters. i know almost nothing of the specifics of the work but most of all the equipment. I have a 88 chevy suburban 3/4 ton but its lifted 6" with 38" tires and a winch. Is there anyway to make this work>? i read the recent thread about the winch and plow but i would think the height is more of an issue. Well thanks in advance for any advice/ information.
    Rocky

2. DYNA PLOW

DYNA PLOW Senior Member

not exactly!!!

3. ceaman

ceaman Senior Member

You can put a blade on a lifted 4x4 with modifications... but I would suggest no winch operated blade! get a good plow and make sure the blade mounts to the truck with the A frame as level as possible...

Also you could do a search and find others who have discussed this topic.

4. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member

Careful, ceaman, dem's fightin' words!!!:gunsfiring:

Lift Search

If you play with the search feature a little bit, you'll find a lot more threads on the subject.

5. Rocky383

Rocky383 Junior Member
    from alaska

i did a search and found mostly people working with 3" or less, and stock tires. sounded like it could be done but i wsn't sure if it could be done with my situation.

6. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member