1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow A Frame Hits Ground

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by B&E snowplowing, Feb 20, 2008.

1. B&E snowplowing

B&E snowplowing Senior Member

I have a 1994 GMC Suburban 1500 I have been plowing with this truck for the past three years,however this year the truck seems to be sitting extremely LOW in the front end, in fact it sits so low that when I go over bumps on the road or over train tracks the plow frame hits the grounds, and hits the ground hard.

When the plow was first installed on this truck the torsion bars were turned up a couple of turns,and the dealer told me all was good,and it was,until this year

I took the truck and plow to the dealer today and he told me that the A frame was bent and in order to fix the problem I would have to buy a new A frame at a cost of $ 600.00

I can't believe that a small bend in the A frame would make the front end of the truck sag the way it does. When the plow is sitting on the ground the clearance between the plow frame and the ground is about 4 inches, when the plow is off the ground the clearance is about 2 inches off the ground..

I have never installed timbrens,so should I start there,or should I do like the dealer said and buy the new A frame, or should I crank up the torsions bars more.

I am going to install new front heavy duty shocks tomorrow just in case that might be part of the problem.

I do believe that the A frame is getting bent because it keeps hitting the ground.

OH sorry I have the Meyer CP 7.6' Poly blade with the EZ mount plus system

Any help would be greatly appreciated
  2. AbsoluteH&L

AbsoluteH&L Senior Member