1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Please Help with Terex / ASV PT-80 Hydraulics!

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by choc, Mar 7, 2012.

1. choc

choc Junior Member
    from Iowa

All:

I am a farmer and new to the skidsteer world. Unfortunately we experienced severe flooding from the Missouri River in 2011. We had massive amounts of cleanup to deal with and knew that we would need a skidsteer as one of our tools. Since we knew we would be working in muck, quick sand and other severely adverse conditions, we bought a Terex / ASV PT-80 based on its reputation to perform in such conditions.

We have had the machine since September 2011 and are generally happy with it. It has certainly lived up to our expectations in terms of ability and agility. We have been in conditions I never would have taken dreamed it would go through. However, one point of frustration has been with the hydraulics. Whenever I have an attachment on that utilizes the auxiliary hydraulics, I have problems if I change oil direction during mid-stroke. The speed of the cylinder slows to a crawl. For example, if I have my grapple on and I try to open it partway and then close it, the hydraulics are painfully slow. If I close the grapple all of the way and actually hit the stop on the cylinder, and then open it, the speed is fine. But if I stop opening before the cylinder is fully retracted, the speed slows to a crawl again. It does the same thing with the cylinders on our 6-way dozer blade, so it is not just the attachment.