1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

PLEASE HELP!!!! Which spreader?????

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by stackmaster, Nov 6, 2008.

1. stackmaster

stackmaster Senior Member

I've been plowing for 12 years but have always sub contracted sanding/gravel. I would like to get into this as it is becoming a major concern for our commercial contracts. SOOO many different options as far as spreaders. Can anyone tell me if I should be looking at steel or Poly?? I would like to be able to remove the spreader from the truck without too much hassle. Any replies much appreciated. Thanks, in advance.

2. albertaplowman

albertaplowman Junior Member

Sander

HI Stackmaster

We have used a few different spreaders so far. We currently have a Western Icebreaker and a Snow Ex 8000. I personally like the snow ex better. It is much simpler to work on and I like the added control of being able to adjust the spread from inside the cab. We also have had much better service from Action Engines on our snow ex than we have had from Fort Gerry for our western. I like the idea of electric. It starts no matter how cold and the few problems we have encountered have been very easy to solve. Now that both spreaders are off warranty i feel much more confident with the snow ex than the western. If you have more questions feel free to call. Kent @ 403.921.9075.

3. scottL

scottL PlowSite.com Addict

I just went through this very problem. First off salters cost so damn much that it's hard to find a deal and the descriptions and details on these salters are near non-existent. So, you go off of word of mouth which is less than detailed. Ugh - fustrating!