1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

please help should i convert my belt driven pump?

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by plowmaster25, Dec 5, 2010.

1. plowmaster25

plowmaster25 Junior Member
    from ma

Hello this is my first time so i hope i get this right. i have an old belt driven fisher pump i changed the pump three times in four years. so i want to change to an electric pump. i have an opportunity to buy what i think is a MM1 pump with piston attached its used with some cables. It came off a 8ft plow and my truck is 9 ft. first should i convert? if so how big of a deal is it? thank you for any help you can provide

2. RepoMan207

RepoMan207 PlowSite Fanatic
    from Maine

Well, you would need to change your controller, and add a new battery harness for starters. Not a big deal at all really.

As far as the one your looking to buy, you'll need the 10" ram, not the 6", I would measure this right away, before considering it.

I'm not too familiar with belt driven units, but there are several guys here that are. I'm sure one of them will pipe in shortly and give you a hand.

If it were me, I would figure out what is ailing your current set up, chances are it's a simple fix.

The manuals for both setups can still be had. The Belt Driven is referred to just that and the one your looking at is titled EHP.

3. Three pumps in 4 years screams of something really wrong to me. It would be MUCH cheaper to fix what you have. Some things to check would be belt alignment, fluid level, and what if any leakage you may have. There also could be other things wrong that make you think its the pump.