1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

PLEASE HELP packed snow and ice in driveway, not plowed but thawed and frozen again

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Shoreline, Feb 6, 2010.

1. Shoreline

Shoreline Member

Please help. I am new to this industry so please pardon my ignorance. I had a potential customer call me yesterday and he has a fairly long (about 200') and twisting driveway with a circle turn around. The snow has not been plowed there for some time and after the last significant (about 6-8") of snow, it has not been plowed but it has thawed, been rained on and frozen again. I don't think there is anyway my plow will move this frozen mess so my question is this, will putting salt on the main frozen areas be enough to melt it down or at least break it up enough that I will be able to plow it? The driveway itself is gravel under the snow pack.

If salting won't cut it for what they want, I am thinking I may need to find someone with a tractor and a box or landscaping scraper or front end loader to dig it up.

The customer is getting low on heating oil so he needs this taken care of. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
  2. DJ Contracting

DJ Contracting PlowSite.com Addict

Use plenty of salt where you can and if he has concrete then some type of ice-melt let it work for awhile the try your best with your plow to scrape it up. Why wasn't taken care of and let go for so long? Don't forget to charge premium for it thou you might be there awhile.
  3. Grassman09

Grassman09 2000 Club Member