1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Picking up new-to-me plow truck tomorrow -- questions

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by MaineSnowPlow, Dec 16, 2011.

1. MaineSnowPlow

MaineSnowPlow Junior Member

After trying to figure out the best setup for my Nissan Frontier, I've decided to trade that truck in for a 2004 Ram 2500 with a Hemi and an 8' Fisher straight blade. It's probably overkill, but I've always wanted a plow truck (I'm new to plowing) and the deal was right. Problem is, the dealer is about 100 miles from my house -- any advice on driving that distance with the plow attached? How should it be positioned? Anything to look out for or keep an eye on, other than disappearing needle on the gas gauge?

Thanks for any guidance/advice you can provide.

2. coyote

coyote Member
    from montana

Drive slow and watch your temp gauge or take blade off and put it in the bed.

3. superdog1

superdog1 Senior Member

I am going to second this advice. 100 miles is WAY to far to drive with an 8ft, 900pd blade on the front. When you get there, hook it up, make sure it works, take it off and have them put it on the bed for you. When you get home, back up to an embankment somewhere and slide it off. You will thank yourself for doing it this way!

4. OC&D

OC&D PlowSite Veteran
    from Earth

Agreed. Driving any distance with the plow on only causes unnecessary strain on your front end, not to mention the possibility of overheating if it's too warm out.

5. MaineSnowPlow

Thanks for the replies -- much appreciated. I've requested the plow be hooked up for a quick test, then loaded into the bed for the drive home.