1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Per push, per hour...???

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by SIMONE'S LAWNS SERVICE, Jan 24, 2003.

1. SIMONE'S LAWNS SERVICE

SIMONE'S LAWNS SERVICE Member

I'm still fairly new to plowing and have a lot to learn, but maybe you guys can educate me on a certain subject. I see very few people mention charging their customers by the hour. The vast majority seem to be talking of "per push" or "1-3" "4-8" etc...
    Why is this? So far I charge by the hour and it's working out great. I can take my time which allows me to operate safely, put less wear and tear on my equipment, and do a really nice job. I also don't worry about getting 1" or 12" it dosen't matter, I work until it's done and get paid for the entire time I was there.
    The "per push" method seems like it could be risky if you were to get a lot of snow, and assuming you would charge more according to the amount of snow...it just seems over complicated. Wouldn't hourly just be simpler? (A minimum charge, of course) Am I missing something?

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine