1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Per Occurance

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Idahoplow, Sep 19, 2003.

1. Idahoplow

Idahoplow Junior Member

I am new to the snow plowing business this season and have just received a request for bid on three parking lots.

They are asking for the removal of 1" of snow or the projected accumulation of 1" or more of snow with the bid priced per occurrence.

Does this mean that I should only bid once per snow fall or for the full snow fall. Per occurance means? When I drop the plow or every snow fall?

Just wondering, thanks for any info.
  2. Lawn Lad

Lawn Lad Senior Member

Generally per occurence means that each time you plow, you charge. If that's 1" or 3", you charge 'em once for that plow. If you go back later in the day or begin plowing again, that would be a second charge... "per occurrence".

The 1" is the trigger depth, when you begin plowing. So you'll be ready to go at 1/2 or 3/4", when it hits 1" you begin plowing.

If you use the search feature and read about different contract types, you'll see all the different variations that people put into their contracts. For instance, tiering the per occurence so that you charge from 1 - 4", 4 - 8", etc. Or, some may opt to charge for a second plowing if the snow is 6" or greater on that push. At a 1" trigger though, you should be hitting that several times during the day that you wouldn't have a 6" snow fall all that often. Maybe one overnight where you get 8 or 10 hours of accumulation it might be more likely.
  3. wyldman

wyldman Member

Welcome to Plowsite. :waving: