1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

People want prices but need help making them

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by lawnranger13, Feb 1, 2011.

1. lawnranger13

lawnranger13 Junior Member

I'm just starting out and my phone rings off the hook everytime a snow storm comes around. I have and F250 7.3 diesel and I'm almost positive im going to buy a Western Wide out. Any thoughts on that for a 4 door super duty 7.3 diesel? I also need help figuring out ways to charge. I have been told change a flat rate for every time I have to do clear a drive way/ parking lot and some guys have told me to do it by the inch. Any thoughts?

Much appreciated, thanks guys!

2. Freebird

Freebird Member

Since you are from CT I can give you some advice.
    First that rig is huge for plowing driveways. Very few drive's are going to have the space for you to turn depending on what part of the state you are in. If you are going to do drives, learn your truck well, practice with the blade because it is going to be easy to do a lot of damage with a truck that size. A 4 door truck on drives is something I have rarely seen and I spent a long time in CT plowing before I moved on.

To figure out your pricing you have to figure out your costs. How much does it cost you to run the truck for an hour in fuel, repairs, insurance, and any other costs you may have. That is how you figure it out. When I was plowing full time if it wasn't $50 an hour minimum it wasn't worth doing.