1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Paying a sub for salting

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Ipushsnow, Nov 7, 2008.

1. Ipushsnow

Ipushsnow Senior Member

Have a guy that wants to sub out to me, which is something I have never done before. I know what hourly rates are around here for plowing, but he has a v-box and I figured I might as well have him salt the lots he plows. He will be using my salt. My question is if I am paying him $75.00 per hour for plowing, what do I pay for him salting? A lot that takes an hour to plow and he makes $75 on would only take 5-10 minutes to salt and at the $75 per hour rate he would only get like $10, that doesn't seem right and I don't think he would go for it. Half the profit on the salt maybe?

Thank you in advance oh wise and learned veterans.

2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Why not just pay him for plowing AND salting the lot? Say $85-$90 for both.

3. erkoehler

erkoehler PlowSite Veteran

What do you do then when you salt and don't plow?

4. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

If we sub out salting we pay around $50/ton spread.

5. Clapper&Company

Clapper&Company PlowSite Veteran
    from NE OHIO

I know a few guys that just pay by the hour.

6. cretebaby

cretebaby PlowSite Veteran

you are going to have to check his lots anyway just spread them yourself

7. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

A good sub doesn't need ckecked in on. JMO

8. cretebaby

Good is the Key word

9. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

Yes , like I have a good wife. LOL

10. cretebaby

11. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Hourly or maybe a percentage of what you charge.

12. GreenAcresFert

GreenAcresFert Senior Member