1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

pay people to attend classes

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by mlbock, Feb 22, 2007.

1. mlbock

mlbock Junior Member

I'm new to this so please forgive my ignorance in online ettiquette!! I have a couple guys
    laid off and want them to take some classes. I pay for the class but not for their time. I
    don't think I should pay time at the class for something that, if the quit, I can't take the info
    out of their brain when they leave. What does other companies do?

Last edited: Feb 22, 2007
  2. scottL

scottL PlowSite.com Addict

That is a hell of a deal!

In other industries a full time employee who is requested to take a class is paid for their time because it is a part of doing business. Sometimes it is structured with goals in mind. For instance, you pay for the class but, they do not get the time paid for for 30 days of continuous employment and a passing grade of 80% or better. Bottom line is that for you to better your company you do have more risk, in this case the risk of the time and money being wasted because the knowledge went to work for someone else. I believe you can also write off the cost of the class and maybe their time if you structure it as a package - not sure though.

3. Superior L & L

Superior L & L PlowSite Veteran
    from MI

Our policy is we pay for the class, but no pay for your time. We have a couple of guys in class right now. It cost us $400 per guy. We are spending money on them and they are making money on unemployment.....we are investing money in there education they can invest some time !!!