1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Parking Lots

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Lux Lawn, Dec 22, 2005.

1. Lux Lawn

Lux Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

Let me start out by saying that I have been plowing residential driveways for about 5 years & plowing and salting for a total of 15 years.Currently we are doing just over 200 driveways this winter (with 3 trucks),and 3 small parking lots.The parking lots that I am currently doing are small 1 has a driveway leading in then just maybe 5 or 6 spot,the second has about 16 spots,and the third probably has about 10.

What I am looking to do is possibly start salting next year.I have another parking lot that I will be doing next season as well and its something that I was going to try and sell.But I am not sure the pricing...I know that it varies from all over the country as well.Keep in mind where we plow all of our winter work is done on contracts.Don't ask me why its just the way it is...you either make a bunch or hope to break even.

2. Up North

Up North Senior Member

I say go for it Larry. With as much snow you get there you may as well try to get some of that business too. I wonder if you could charge salting on a as needed basis, that way you wouldn't run into a loss if things start adding up for the season. I don't know, this is definitely the place to get some good advice, I may do salt next season too. Are you thinking about a tailgate spreader or something else?

Buck

3. lorentzlawnsnow

lorentzlawnsnow Senior Member

in any of my winter season contracts i always charge for salt on an as used basis and base my season price on the plowing only. because salt can eat up a profit fast.

4. dmontgomery