1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Opinions wanted

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by tattood_1, Dec 28, 2008.

1. tattood_1

tattood_1 Member

I am kinda new to pushin snow for money. Done my family and friends free usually. I have a buddy that bid a lot and ask if I would sub for him to help him out. I told him yes for $45 an hour. That was $10 cheaper than I was offered by 2 others.
    After we got everything agreed on and the first snow came he told me he had to bid the lot cheaper than he planned so he could only pay me $35 an hour. Him being a friend and all I told him alright. Now the more I think about it, it is not really worth it by the time I take out my truck payment, fuel, wear & tear, and time.
    The way I feel about it is, just because he dropped his price doesn't automatically drop mine. If he makes just $5 an hour by me being there, he is still making money off of me and my truck just being there.
    Am I right or should I just roll with it?

2. TurfSolutionsMN

TurfSolutionsMN Senior Member
    from MN

For $35 an hour your paying him to plow his lots.

3. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Consider it on the job training. Learn to plow and get paid for it.

4. scooled101

scooled101 Senior Member
    from midwest

ditto I can take my sweet time plow 2 single car drives in 30 mins and make more than that not worth. Things like this are what can really screw up a friendship

5. erkoehler

erkoehler PlowSite Veteran

$35 an hour is a joke.

6. tattood_1

tattood_1 Member