1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Opinions on what to tackle w/ 8' plow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bison1973, Feb 4, 2003.

1. bison1973

bison1973 Member

I'm new to plowing this season and I was just curious to see what types of jobs some of you guys do or think is doable with an 8' straight blade plow. I also have a taigate spreader that hold 600+ lbs. I was just wondering what some of you would and would not reccomend. I want to bid on more accounts for next winter but do not want to get into situations I can't really handle. Thanks for your input.
  2. 90plow

90plow Senior Member

Personally its what you feel comfortable doing and what time frame you have to work in. I only have about 10-20 accounts I plow regularly due to school and another job, I have an 8' plow on my truck it's also my first year on my own so I chose to stay low just incase something happened (I dont have a backup truck) I figure I can always shovel 10 drives. I also do drives where people wave me down just one hit wonder drives I may never do again. Its all up to you I know guys that may take up to 100 customers with one truck and some only 50 (if theyre doing it full-time). Explain what kind of jobs you want to everyone and what kind of jobs are available. If I were you I'd take it slow and get a few jobs to start so you can take your time in the truck and not run into anything I take on more accounts every storm ussually by word of mouth or just driving through town. Take it easy thats all I have for ya.
    Just my .02 cents
  3. Grshppr

Grshppr Senior Member