1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Opinions on bidding?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Cloyd LLC, Nov 6, 2012.

1. Cloyd LLC

Cloyd LLC Junior Member
    from Indiana

I have been in business for a few years but I still say I am a newbie to snow plowing, therefore I am asking for any advice that anyone cares to give. This property is Indiana and I hope I am not stepping on anyone's toes here if your in my area bidding on the same property.

The pic attached is a Earth Google view of this apartment complex.

~Trigger is 2 inches
    ~NO salt or shoveling as the apartment maint. crew will shovel and salt all walkways.
    ~The bid will include plowing during any event and clean up after cars have moved after the event each time - so yes, I see more time with cleaning up sometimes with a larger complex.
    ~all road ways in the photo are the properties.

I was thinking of bidding this along the lines of $750per event up to 6inches. This would include following up with a clean up a few hours after the initial to ensure that we have attempted to clean up areas where cars are parked. Mgt. said they understand that we will only show up once after for a clean up within 12 hours after the initial.

I understand that time will vary depending on which truck I use in my fleet but I am looking at a base price to judge if I am too low! I do NOT want to be one of those contractors that do it for cheap (regardless if I do an excellent job) and then I ruin the market for my area because I am going too low. On the other hand, I am no trying to be the highest either.