1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Opinions: Best improvements to truck/plow

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by JFon101231, Jan 28, 2011.

1. JFon101231

JFon101231 Senior Member
    from CT

OK, so here is the scoop. I'm a newbie. Second year doing my driveway, first time doing anyone else's for $. I have an 88 K2500 LD (7200 GVW) with a 8' Fisher full hydraulic conventional plow with a big highway (maybe 8"?) edge on it. Truck has a non-posi rear end, and tires that are not specific snow tires and are different size tires front/back (225/245, I know bad for transfer case?). Have approx. 900lbs of sand in the bed just to the rear of the axle.

Yesterday, we got about 15", and I got stuck several times. Part of this is inexperience (trusting the weatherman and getting up at 5am instead of 2am), part incompetence (i.e. backing into a snow bank) etc. I also had to turn down several jobs that I simply tried and could not make it up - any slight incline and I generally can't push snow. I know at least part is my equipment - SO, here we are. I have limited funds this year, but want to make a big step forward and do much more next year and want recommendations on where to spend and get best improvement/bang for the buck:

1) Heavier truck - looking to get a 2500HD or 3500 for some towing
    2) Posi rear end
    3) Locking front end - i.e. ARB air locker etc.?
    4) Snow tires - studded?
    5) Tire chains - at this point in the year, it generally is only driven for plowing so shouldn't need to take on/off
    6) Snowblower - in case I get stuck, and/or to do some driveways that may be faster (not sure if I'm better off w/ like a 24" cut or bigger like 28"+)