1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

only useing sand???

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by jlong, Dec 18, 2008.

1. jlong

jlong Junior Member

is this actually and effective practice....excuse my stupidity but i am actually quite new to the industry. In my opinion it is a way of saving a couple of dollars while increasing your risk of someone falling or a vehical accident. I was quite shocked while bidding on a chain of resturants in town that they actually came back to me and asked if I would use straight stand to cut the cost??? I didn't get the bid. Then my fathe enformed me that after the last snow the company doing his factory was shoveling "blocks" of frozen sand onto the parking lot after plowing the snow...In my opinion it is idiots like this that are destroying the priceing of this industry :rolleyes:

2. dirtmandan2

dirtmandan2 Senior Member

we sand when its really cold, for the last week its been below zero, not exactly good salting weather. We also sand a couple of gravel lots.

3. cjasonbr

cjasonbr Senior Member
    from Mass

nope. The idiots ruining the pricing are the ones that don't charge enough, who most often don't pay for insurance etc etc.

Years ago i planned on running some kind of ice-melt in the spreader but nobody was interested in it, everyone wanted sand. The reason being is price. I went to home depot last week and both sand and ice-melt was up about 100% from last year. 50# sand was 3.50, 50# ice melt was 16.00!!!!!

So really it comes down to salt costing 4.5x more than sand, depending on the deal you can find.. Often times when i plow there isn't much of anything left on the ground anymore anyways, so sand it plenty sufficent.

4. hydro_37