1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

On board video camera

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by pohouse, Nov 27, 2011.

1. pohouse

pohouse Senior Member

Looking to add an onboard video camara to the dump truck. Dash cam view. I work as a private contractor for the city and many times team plow with a city owned dump truck or motor grader. Just a way to document potential damage claims.

I did some searching, but with new products coming out all the time, its hard to know what product works best. The GoPro HD looks very workable. Important features for me are long recording periods (8hrs?), wide angle, windshield mount, maybe even 12V adapter. Any models, brands you guys could recommend? Thanks.:salute:
  2. Weenuk

Weenuk Senior Member

Also be interested in this feed back. Would you mass store all the recording or delete if the recording is not worth keeping?
  3. pohouse

pohouse Senior Member

Transfer and mass store. Issues could come up in the Spring.
  4. Weenuk

Weenuk Senior Member

That is a great idea. Has a residential client last year who had a Honda drive thru his garage door. I instantly took several pictures to show that his driveway was clear to bare cement with salt crystals visable. Wanted my arse covered just to safe. When I called the client, he informed me that his son got angry and purposely drove into the garage. Still those picture could have come in handy......
  5. Brian Young

Brian Young PlowSite Veteran