1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

older western plow seems to wobble alot

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by zzzman, Dec 8, 2009.

1. zzzman

zzzman Member

like i've said before in previous post. i am new to the plow thing this year, so hopefully this is not a stupid question, but just don't seem right. i have an older western plow style and when i have it raised up u can lift up on the end and rock it back in forth to much. seems like it should be alot stiffer. any feedback would be great. not sure if i need a new pivot bolt or that is the way it should be.

2. no lead

no lead PlowSite.com Addict

new pivot bolt time.

3. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

Make sure the pivot bolt is tight and not worn out or slotted with wear. Grease all the wear areas on the horizontal parts that rub together. Tighten the ram bolts too, make sure they are not bent, are right size and not cracked. The mounting horn pins may not be the right size. Someone may have used small trailer hitch pins instead of the Western's.

4. farmer1009

farmer1009 Junior Member

I had the exact same problem when I started plowing a few years ago, and I found out that it was the pivot pin. I had to find out the hard way though when it snapped in the middle of a parking lot. Definately not something to take lightly.

5. zzzman

zzzman Member

thanks for the input. going to go buy one friday and replace it.

6. Snowbully

Snowbully Junior Member

I agree, check your pivot bolt. I had the same problem. I got a new one, it also came with a short sleeve spacer and a short little western locknut. It was only about $5 so I bought a spare.
    Might as well check all the bolts while your'e at it.