1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Older Boss V plow wont raise...

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by BigJohn, Dec 26, 2006.

1. BigJohn

BigJohn Junior Member

First let me say I am new to plowing, and want to add this service to my small business. I have a 1987 GMC full size Jimmy, with, I believe, a first generation Boss V plow.
    My problem started as an electrical problem, and, after getting that fixed, I thought, now the plow won't raise, or wings swing. I was told that it may be a plugged filter, and it needs to be cleaned out, but I don't know where to start. I don't want to blunder into fixing it, and screw it up, but my only other option is to bring it to a local mechanic, and he is pretty expensive. Tried the Boss website, but nothing matched my plow.
    I'm sure the plow will lower, but you can see my problem there. I'd never get it to raise back up.
    The pump wants to work, but all I get is it screaming at me, and my voltage drops severely.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    BigJohn

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

Welcome BigJohn! First, if this is an older "Gen 1" Boss plow then the pump unit is mounted under the hood, correct? Since the pump run's in all position's but nothing move's then the first thing I would check is the fluid level in the reservoir. If the fluid level is ok then pull the reservoir tank off the end of the pump and check the pickup tube and filter to see if their plugged.

3. BigJohn

BigJohn Junior Member

First of all, thanks for the quick reply. I think Plowsite may turn out to be a great place.