1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

old western broken push frame repair

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by meborder, Jan 29, 2013.

1. meborder

meborder Senior Member

i broke my push frame about a month ago, and have spend the last month or so trying to get the time together to get it patched back together.

I'm no pro, a rookie welder who only works for himself, and i fix my own stuff because i have to. i just thought i'd share what broke and what i did to fix it.

i posted this on welding web too, so if you hang out there you may have seen this as i used that forum to get help on what i needed to do to get it patched up.

so here goes:

did my usual walk around and noticed the plow was all effed up!!!! i have no idea how it broke this bad! believe it or not, i'm really easy on it. so anyway ... my father-in-law came down and helped me take the plow off and horse it around so that i could get to fixin' on it.

here's where i started: the curved piece broke all the way through. and the vertical support broke the weld. quite sure the two are related, just not sure how as there is no load in this spot. thinking it has something to do with the moment load on the angle mid-span between the plow mounts on either side.

ground it out as deep as i could.
    [​IMG]

here it is from above:
    [​IMG]

did a root pass with 6011 and capped it with two passes of 7014.
    [​IMG]

inow to tackle the curved piece that broke right beneath:

ground it out as deep as i could.
    [​IMG]

2. meborder

meborder Senior Member

did a root pass with 6011 again.
    [​IMG]
    not my strong suit but i'm getting better with it using circular motions: