1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

OK- Question re: F-550 and plowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by PerfectEarth, Feb 18, 2010.

1. PerfectEarth

PerfectEarth Member

Hello all! Been a lawnsite member for years and just wandered over here. Been a great winter in Louisville and I have some questions for the pros...

I've been doing snow for 10 years- running skid steers and a Deere 4320 tractor with a nice plow set-up... This was for my old job that I left in Dec '09. I currently do not offer snow removal for my landscape company but this is something I'd like to ponder. I have been doing driveways with my Dingo widetrack (just the bucket, would LOVE a blade...) and the old job still subs me out to come in a run the plow- which has been very profitable the past month and a half. I charge 55.00 per hour just to come in and hop on their tractor....so yes, been loving that. We clear quite a bit of ground- lots of small drives and parking lots throughout a small town. So yes, I do have experience (but not in a truck/plow set up)... I think there would be a good potential for me to be a sub next year for a few guys I know. And I have a few very nice neighborhood street leads.

SO, the question is this- I have a 2004 F-550 dump. A great truck, it's not 4-wheel drive, it's the base model chassis cab, MANUAL, nice Crysteel dump on it that would be very pretty with a salt box in it. ;) Obviously, the truck can handle a plow up front. BUT, is this a wise move considering it's not 4-wheel drive and it's not automatic?? Would I be hating life trying to plow snow in this truck?