1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

"Odd noise" from cab roof/ceiling

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Maine_Train, Dec 20, 2009.

1. Maine_Train

Maine_Train Senior Member

I rejoined the ranks of Chevy owners Friday afternoon when I picked up my '04 Silverado 1500. I've had Fisher plows on three previous vehicles, but this is my first time with a Minute Mount. (MM2, actually, for a 7½' RD plow. First time I've seen a "FishStik," too.)

Anyway, I've noticed that sometimes when going along at highway speeds (50+), I can hear a random "clicking" sound that seems to come from around the center of the cab ceiling. I kinda thought it might be something like pebbles or sand from the roadway being blown up over the plow blade and bouncing off the roof.
    So far, no cracks, no leaks, no paint flaking off, but I figured I'd toss it out there and see who takes a shot at it. :D

My new Bowtie Buggy:
    [​IMG]

2. HotRod55

HotRod55 Junior Member

Does it do it when the plow is off? Because when i worked at a GM dealership in the body shop we had people come in and complain about the same thing. But it was only after they installed a bugshield on their truck. So in your case if it is when the plow is on I know something you can try to do to fix it.

3. tuney443

tuney443 PlowSite.com Addict

There's some not so rigid metal roof supports above your headliner.If you have a ceiling console you might be able to find it.

4. Maine_Train

Yeah, I haven't had the plow off since I got it. We didn't get much snow from the latest storm, but I did take a swipe at my driveway this afternoon.