1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Observed a blizzard plow tripping

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by M&M, Jan 8, 2009.

1. M&M

M&M Senior Member

I just got home from a sandwich shop for lunch where a guy was plowing the lot with a Chevy 1/2 ton and a newer looking blizzard plow. There was about 1 inch of snow/ice/slush on the lot and I watched him plow the lot. Now here's my point/question: Every other push (maybe 75ft long) the blade would trip and fold right over. Is this common with full trip blades? I have zero experience with a full trip, but after seeing that I don't think I want to experience a full trip. It seems like it would be very annoying not to mention not very productive because every time it tripped he would spin his tires (he was in 4x4) and have to start the run over. Do you guys experience this alot? And no, the lot was not icepacked or anything.

2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

The only reason I can think of for the blade to keep tripping is that he is hitting solid pack ice, or pot holes in the lot. I have a full trip western, and meyers, and neither one of them trip very often, unless I hit one of the above, or a lip in the pavement from an apron of something like that.

3. MrBigStuff

MrBigStuff Senior Member
    from Boston

The trip point can be set. He probably has it set too light.

I liked my full trip plow. There was no mistaking that the plow was up against something that could cause damage when the entire blade starts folding down.

4. Runner

Runner Senior Member