1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Novice Question: Plow Will Not Move

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by ryanp37, Jan 29, 2008.

1. ryanp37

ryanp37 Junior Member

Hey guys,
    Let me preface this question by saying that I am a complete novice that recently bought a new truck with Minute Mount plow to clear my driveway. I know how to plow well enough but I know virtually nothing about the mechanics and troubleshoptting of Minute Mount Plows. The other day I was plowing out my driveway and I was repositioning my vehicle and found that I could not move my plow in any direction after dropping it. It is one of those Fisher electric hydrauic units. The plow motor clearly sounds like its running when I move the plow joystick in any of the four directions but no plow movement. Could it be something as simple as needing fluid? The guy I bought the truck from used in for personal use only and actually indicated that he never added or changed the fluid. As stupid as this may sound, based on these images could someone please tell me where the fluid goes. I Know I must sound like a total idiot but I am kind of over a barrell here. Alternatively could it be something else simple that I can address?

Thanks so much in advance.

2. festerw

festerw Senior Member

3. ryanp37

ryanp37 Junior Member

Interestingly enough, I removed that plug and looked down and saw nothing but steel ( my point being no fluid). Should fluid be visible down this hole? If no fluid is visible does that suggest that a lack of fluid would be my problem?

Thanks for your response.
  4. mayhem

mayhem PlowSite.com Addict
    from Peru MA