1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Not a truck. But a Car problem

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by MickiRig1, Dec 5, 2011.

1. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

My Daughter's 98 Toyota Camery.
    The steering wheel shakes only when going down hills with the brakes on. There is no pulsation of the brake pedal. Just a side to side shake of the steering wheel.
    I can wrench real well, so I aint no rookie. I have replaced the bearings on both front wheels. It has recent rotors, calipers, new tires I did and new drive shafts before we bought it. Rotated the tires, no change! I just thought someone might have an idea what the problem is. I am a professional driver of Ambulances. Driving is like breathing for me.
    The car drives great except for the hill shake!

2. Moonlighter

Moonlighter Senior Member

Have you checked the main mounts bolts for the engine cradle, if the rear ones are loose in any way it would allow the steering rack to move under that condition. Can you do a run out on the rotors to make sure they are not slightly warped or have a high spot in them.

3. mayhem

mayhem PlowSite.com Addict
    from Peru MA

Jack the front end and check for loose/bad wheel bearings and tie rods.

4. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

Brake rotors are made so cheap these days it don't take much heat to warp them. Have to replace them one my wifes car about every year because of a huge steep hill she goes down every day. Pull tires and put a dial indicator on and spin the rotor and ill bet its warped.

5. theholycow

theholycow PlowSite.com Addict

+1

I have had rotor runout issues whose symptoms did NOT include brake pedal pulsation.