1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Noob looking for help understanding triggers

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by b16bri, Feb 14, 2015.

1. b16bri

b16bri Junior Member
    from ct

Hey guys, I'm a complete noob and I was hoping to get some clarification on triggers. I understand if you have a 2 inch trigger you don't start plowing until that 2 inch mark has been reached. But how does this work if you get a 10 inch snow storm over the course of the entire day do you go out every time 2 inches are reached so you would plow your customers drive way or parking lot 5 times ? or do you wait until all 10 fall ? And how do you charge for this lets say you charge someone 35 dollars for there drive way in that same 10 inch storm do you charge them 35x5 (175). Also do you charge different for 2 inches vs 5 or 10 inches. I understand this is pretty basic snow removal but again im a noob so please be nice lol.

Thanks brian
  2. snowplower1

snowplower1 Senior Member

Don't worry not a stupid question and you'll get different answers from everyone. First off, for a 10 in storm, you definitely don't want to wait for all 10 inches to drop because then you can wreck equipment. You also probably won't want to plow 5 times in that I'd your per trip because your customer will flip at the bill. Maybe plow every 3-4 inches so you only plow about 3 times. And for charging, I would charge them 35x3. Some here would say you could charge more if you plowed more than 2 inches but you would have to put that in contact
  3. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic