1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Noob. A couple questions though.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by <Benchmark>, Jan 23, 2012.

1. <Benchmark>

<Benchmark> Member

Hi guys I am new to the plowing industry and I am looking to buy a truck and plow. I was gonna go with a chevy or ford. I dont know if i should get a 2500 or 3500. The 3500 seems like it would be to big and wide to get around especially if i did a few residential drives. But I wanna make sure the 2500 is gonna have the a$$ to push fine and have the suspension to hold up to the beating of a plow. My second question is going to get different answers but i really just want to know if there is a certain brand of plows i should stay away from. These are some links to the plows im looking at. Which one do you guys recommend. Is a 2500 good enough for these plows?

Blizzard Power Plow
    http://www.blizzardplows.com/bd/showroom/power-plow

Western Wide Out
    http://www.westernplows.com/wp/showroom/wideout

Fisher XLS
    http://www.fisherplows.com/fe/showroom/xls

2. pohouse

pohouse Senior Member

What are you plowing?

3. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

What , you mean the proper tool depend on the job... who would have thought :)

4. 03sd

03sd Member

Are you plowing your own driveway or are you going commercial? Most guys seem to like the 3/4 tons it all depends on the application. If your doing residential drives a 1/2 ton would probably do just fine.

5. 03sd

03sd Member