1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by stiffysteele, Apr 29, 2004.

1. stiffysteele

stiffysteele Junior Member

I'm am starting out this next season on my own. When do you normally start advertising. Is june too early? Personally I'm scared S!@#less. Worried about all the little things that can drive a small buisness owner MAD ! Any advise would be most appriciated. I'm just starting out with residential driveways and small areas like that.
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

One main question - Do you have another full time job? If so, I wouldn't worry too much about trying to get as much work as possible the first year. I don't think June is too early for your area. Get a few small drives this first year and use them as a learning experience. Don't worry too much if you're too high or too low. If you're too high, you won't get them. If you're too low, you'll learn better for next year. Besides, it's doubtful you'll be all that low.

You've got the right idea, so put an ad in the local shopper, maybe a notice on a bulletin board at the local convenience store and let friends/family know you're looking for the drives to plow.

Just do the best you can to meet the customer's expectations. Do you have any experience in plowing snow?
  3. kl0an

kl0an Senior Member

I don't know if I'd jump in without any experience.. I spent last winter drivin other peoples trucks and equipment and I think I learned the techniques pretty well, now I just gotta learn the business end of it all..