1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

newbie wondering about set up

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by plowboywonder, Sep 4, 2015.

1. plowboywonder

plowboywonder Junior Member

So im new to the business and i am looking for a plow and truck. i will be doing only residential this first year. i want a v plow but do i need one? they seem to be almost double the cost of a straight blade. also I need to buy a rig ive been looking at trucks and i am wondering what else other than a full sized pickup you guys might recommend, also what older trucks would be best? i have around 6 grand to spend? thanks for your input

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Have you ever plowed before?
    What's your mechanical back ground?
    What type of plow dealers are in your area?

You don't need a V, but if you find a deal get it.

3. plowboywonder

yes i have plowed before. i am pretty descent with mechanics. im not an expert by any means but i can do most light mechanic work. Im not going to buy from a dealer. I will be buying used of craigslist.

4. jbsplow

jbsplow Senior Member
    from -

you can find decent deals for 6-8 k

5. dieselss

I figured used, that's why I asked about mechanics. I'd try the search function for trucks and plows

6. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

For what you want to spend, I'd be looking at an older Jeep with a straight blade. I think you can get the most bang for your buck in that area.

7. plowboywonder

What kind of jeep would you recommend? Ive found some good used straight blade plows. Do certain plows only fit on certain vehicles or can i usually get the mounts for most 4 wheel drives?

8. JustJeff