1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie with a Pivot Pin problem

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by Kenyou, Nov 2, 2007.

1. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member

Hi everyone. I am new to plowing and new to this site. I have spent many a day and night reading posts. Probably more than I should have if I was married. I would like to thank you for all the valuable information that I have received by reading everybody's posts. I just got a deal on a 93 Chevy 2500 with a 8ft Meyers poly plow w/a E-60 pump. From reading all the post, I may have made a mistake in getting it, but I hope not. So far I only plan on plowing my driveway, the driveway to my woods and maybe some family's driveways.
    From what I hear, getting a plow truck is like getting a swimming pool. Everybody is all of a sudden your friend.

Many guys on the forum told me to take all nuts and bolt apart and lube them up so that I won't have to go through an Act of Congress to get them off in the middle of the winter, if the need arises. Everything went fine until I got to the Pivot pins. There is no grease zerks and I don't know how to get the pins out to make sure they are lubed. I kept reading the Meyers forum and they said to heat them cherry red and use a BFH. I will try that if it doesn't melt my mold board.

I would really appreciate any help you could give me if you know something that could help me further.
    Thank you for such a wealth of information on your site.

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic