1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie Saying Hello

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Ramtuff Hemi, Nov 22, 2015.

1. Ramtuff Hemi

Ramtuff Hemi Junior Member

:waving:

I'm new to this site, but not to plowing snow. I've been subbing for a few years now and decided to branch out on my own. Just doing residential work for the time being. Just purchased a Snowdogg plow for my Ram 1500 to see how things go before spending any "big" money on equipment. Any advise from some of you seasoned guys?

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Welcome.....:waving:

Seeing as you opened the door......

You subed for years, so you know what plowing is all about.
    What did you use for equipment when you subed?

So why didn't you spend big money from the get go?

Your truck and plow will be worth less next year if you intend to up grade.
    Or it could make a decent back up truck.

3. immortal.ben

immortal.ben Member

Welcome to the forum. I am pretty new here too. You will find some great advise and information here, but you will have to sift through a lot of obnoxious posts to find it.

My best advise is to grow slowly, which means on a cash basis.

4. Ramtuff Hemi

I subbed for a family friend (his truck with Fisher plow). I have had my Ram for 5 years now (personal vehicle), but just recently added the plow. I am going out on my own with no customer base at the moment, hence not wanting to spend big bucks out of the gate until I see if I can make a go of it. Thumbs Up

5. Ramtuff Hemi

Yep, I'm not a newbie to forums and how they work, you get those obnoxious posts on every one of them it seems. :D