1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

newbie question

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by mt8, Dec 16, 2004.

1. mt8

mt8 Junior Member

i am taking my boss v plow up to camp this weekend. i've never used it before. my only experience plowing is with an atv. they got around 10" of snow last weekend and there's a 50% chance of snow there for the next few days. i am 2 miles off of blacktop on basically an improved, gated logging road. that road may be plowed or packed down from deerhunters.

my question is on my 100 yard camp road. the last half of it (by my camp) is graveled. to avoid getting gravel in the grass, should i lift the blade a little to try to keep the gravel on the road? it helped some when i did this with the atv. do i want to do this with a truck plow? is it even possible?

as u can tell from my questions, i'm a rookie so any help will be appreciated.

thanks,
    mark

2. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict

How far will you be driving to get there?

V-Plows like to overheat a truck at highway speeds real quick!

3. mt8

mt8 Junior Member

70 miles; i've only driven the plow home (10 miles) and disconnected it in the yard. i'll keep an eye on the gauge and the other on the speedometer.

4. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict

Let us know how it does. Looks like we have the same truck.

6.0Liter, right?

Report back when you get home.

5. Mebes

Mebes Senior Member

Put the blade in V and drop it to the ground, and then raise it back up about 1-2 inches.

If it's hard pack in the middle then go back and pick up your center hoof when you are done.