1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie in one aspect

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by russ130, Dec 9, 2008.

1. russ130

russ130 Senior Member

Ok I'm a newbie only so far as this year I'll be using my own equipment. I have a 78 chevy 3/4 ton with the camper package and a fisher 8' conventional plow. The truck has a fresh $6000 motor in it and fresh rebuilt turbo 350 tranny. The plow works perfect and I replaced all the bolts before reading I should do that. So I guess I can be anal about my equipment but truth is I've been on the ground in the middle of a snow storm because of broken bolts, clevis pins and the sort. The last 3 years I've been doing the last part of 91 south in MA and up to the first exit on 291. Both plowing and salting. Before that I was in a 1 ton doing commercial lots. I'm going to admit it, I'm a little nervous about plowing with my own equipment and while getting prepared for the up coming season I'm hoping I haven't forgotten anything. I'm only doing driveways this season with the exception of one gas station. I expect to make little to no money so anything better is pure cream. So here is the big question, can you guys suggest things I may have overlooked? What spare parts should I keep on hand for my setup? And the biggest of all, what is the minimum amount of snow before you plow? Realize before I just did what I was told and with the state you just sit there through out the whole storm even if you don't have to plow at all.
  2. rawdog

rawdog Senior Member
    from Cape MA

not directed at you...but the Springfield area roads are the worst ever when it comes to being plowed.