1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by padec21, Nov 7, 2008.

1. padec21

padec21 Member
    from ct

First time poster here. I recently upgraded my truck from a lifted F150 mud toy to a F250. I mainly use the truck for pulling a camper and side jobs (carpenter). However this truck came with a Fisher minute mount plow 7.5' I believe. Its a 2001 F250 V-10 crew cab 4x4. auto. it has air bads in the rear. Nokien tires. not sure how much plowing it has done but it only has 50,000 miles on it. the truck is mint. I only plan on plowing my own driveway and a couple of neighbors. I have read about ballast in the bed of the truck. What should I use?
    Should I install one of those plastic blade scraper things?
    Anything else I should do to the truck to get it ready?
    Thanks again for any help.ussmileyflag

2. ducatirider944

ducatirider944 Senior Member
    from Iowa

If you are only doing your drive and a few neighbors, I wouldn't worry about ballast, or wings for that point. I'm a little lost on the plastic blade scraper things??

3. padec21

padec21 Member
    from ct

I saw them on the Fisher sight. Something about them protecting the scraper blade and they are changeable.

4. padec21

padec21 Member
    from ct

My bad its a steel cutting edge not plastic. I dont know if I have one on there now. Also can I get a back blade for any plow. I believe I have the HD plow set up.

5. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

The plow should have the steel scraping edge on it. You may want to see how worn down it is.