1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by slasky, Nov 7, 2010.

1. slasky

slasky Junior Member

I will be plowing for the first time this year. I got tired of snow blowing my driveway last year so I bought an 09 F250 to plow and tow with. I am only planning to pick up a couple of residential driveways around my house; mostly people I know. If I enjoy it I may expand next year or do some subbing.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Wayne Volz

Wayne Volz Senior Member

Nice set-up

You have a nice set-up. Pick up enough work to make it worth your investment. Snow will offer you a great opportunity to make some nice winter money. Don't forget about the ice melter side of this business. You will make more out of the back of that truck than you will in the front.

Good luck.

3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

nice rig
    start small and grow if you like plowing

4. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic

Nice set up. Like hydro 37 said start slow and if you enjoy plowing you can grow next Winter.

5. Plow Babe

Plow Babe Senior Member

Don't forget to call your insurance agent and get coverage for snow plowing.

And even if you are just plowing for friends, sign a contract with them.

PayPal or ProPay are easy ways to get set up to take credit cards. This is a great way to get paid for residential, and saves you the nightmare of trying to collect late payments from friends.

Just a couple of tips. :) Nice looking truck.

6. slasky

slasky Junior Member