1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie here to the site, Having trouble

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by hotrodfeguy, Dec 8, 2007.

1. hotrodfeguy

hotrodfeguy Junior Member

Hi everyone love the site. This is like a snowplow dream information area :blush2:
    I have a old 67 F-250 bigblock 4.56 gears and grear drive transfer. Going to rebody it.
    http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r264/hotrodfeguy/P9130424.jpg

I was cleaning my driveway and the plow will not go up down or side to side. Its a cable operated western. the pump runs but no movement in anyway. Any help on this I would be most gratefull. I am a mechanic but new to working on the pump/valve body. Replaced many a line and fitting on this plow over the past 16 years I have had it. Thanks for any help on this. :waving:

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

May seem obvious given your experience, but have you checked the hydraulic fluid level? Then checked all the connections for obstructions?

3. hotrodfeguy

Yes I did That was the first thing I checked(thanks). I have the pump motor buzzing but its not making any movements. I did a search and found the cable adjustment specs in the manual from the western site. And made the adjustments. The lowering and raising was a bit off. So cables are set up now. Any other ideas?

4. Mick

from Maine

Packing nut too tight??

I've never used cable operated plow, so don't really know.

5. cornbinder

cornbinder Senior Member