1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie here,,Pro Help please .

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by diehrd, Dec 11, 2006.

1. diehrd

diehrd Senior Member
    from NY

05 Siera 2500HD, Ultra mount Pro plow. Plowed 1 driveway 4 times with it last year.

Problem,Can not mount or dismount plow with out having to wrestle and fight it on and off.

Solution attempt so far

Lubed up arms and reciever brackets no help.This problem has been from day 1 it is a night mare to drive onto or drive off the plow , getting off is worse you can backblade a driveway with hooks disengaged for gods sakes.

Took it back to the dealer UniCell in Rochester NY..His guy walked out looked at plow for a minute and says,,,Recievers are bent ! You need to buy these new ones at $234.00.The new ones dont even look like the ones I have currently.

I am more inclined to think
    A) The height was not properly set at origional install or has come out of whack
    B) The recievers have been changed by western to correct for mounting issues.

Can any one tell me what is the most likely case ? The dealer saying there bent Pay $234.00 Or my ideas A or B ...

I added a pic.The part in grey thats shown in animation is what I am told is bent,how likely is that ?

optimum_active.gif

Last edited: Dec 11, 2006
  2. diehrd

diehrd Senior Member
    from NY

Any one with any ideas ? I have plowed for residential clients for the last 8 years, Used the Uni mount system in the past with a 7.6 blade...That was easier to mount then this ultra mount.

3. LINY Rob

LINY Rob Senior Member

why dont you measure the height of your truck, then see where they have the plow set now?