1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Newbie here, looking for advice

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by countrydoc, Apr 8, 2007.

1. countrydoc

countrydoc Member

I am brand-new to this forum, just registered today. Looks like a very good forum.

I am tired of spending $400-500 per season on plowing services. I live in rural Maine, and have about 100 feet of sloping gravel driveway to keep clear, and about 300-400 feet of private gravel road to plow. I share the road costs with 2 neighbors.

Here are the options I am considering.
    1. I just got a 2005 Ram 3500 Cummins dually that I am going to use primarily to tow a travel trailer. Could get a used plow to mount on that. Pro's: TONS of power to deal with the hill and the wet heavy snow and big drifts that we get. Cons: RWD (have chains, but even with chains on it still sometimes wont make it up my driveway), long truck with limited maneuverability, and manual trans that I need to keep healthy for towing the trailer.

2. My wife drives a 2006 Jeep Commander Hemi, could get a light-duty plow for that. Pros: more maneuverable, still plenty of power. Cons: it is leased, and I'm not sure if I can mount a plow on a leased vehicle.

3. My loyal 97 Toyota Tacoma could be the plow truck. Pros: most cost-effective choice. Cons: not sure it will have enough power/torque (2.4liter 4-cyl engine)